Our Kids Are Already Messed Up…

Ok. Not literally…well, maybe just a little bit.

This was actually taken from a post I read a few days ago from Help 4 Your Family. The writer is a therapist who works with families and children that have been diagnosed with mental health disorders that she’s supposed to “fix’ (whatever that means). But, before you say, ‘that doesn’t apply to me’, hear me out…

Last week, I posted about one of my dilemmas with parenting which is discipline. As I mentioned then, I didn’t really have a good (in my opinion) example of that as a child and so, I’m always striving for ways to change that as well as beating myself up for when I don’t do it the right way. So she mentioned that parents are always coming to her to tell her about these fears and this is what she said she tells them, ‘Do not worry.  Your children probably are already ”messed up.”  If they are not yet, they will be soon.  Just like the rest of us. ‘

This had me laughing a little for a second until I thought about what she said. Her statement was so simple and yet, reading it was like a light bulb going off in my head…”Nobody is perfect”.

I think it’s much easier to learn from someone that is more relatable then it is to learn from someone that is trying to be “perfect” all the time. In fact, it may even make you want to do the opposite of what they tell you because what they are saying seems so out of reach.

All of this is just to say that if you’re a young mom or even an older mom and you constantly beat yourself up because you hollered at your child or told them you didn’t feel like hearing a story at the moment, do not think your child is ruined. They will most likely not remember it and will just see that you are not a robot!

Look at it this way, the fact that you even care so much shows that your child has the best parent they could ever have!

2 thoughts on “Our Kids Are Already Messed Up…

  1. Not a problem, at all! This thing called parenting can be difficult if we don’t have others to back us up so it’s nice to have someone who is an expert in situations that us moms have difficulty conquering and is willing to share that expertise for free. So thank you and I will definitely let you know if I come up with some new ideas. Good luck on your book! 🙂

  2. Thank you so much for this. That post is actually an adaptation of an few pages from a book I’m hoping to publish so I’m really glad you liked it. Thank you also for the follow. Please let me know if there are specific topics you would like me to cover as I’m always looking for ideas 🙂

Leave a comment